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COST RELATED REIMBURSEMENT OF NURSING FACILITIES

The New Mexico Title XIX Program make reimbursement for appropriately licensed and certified Nursing Facility (NF)
services as outlined in this material.
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GENERAL REIMBURSEMENT POLICY:

The Human Services Department will reimburse Nursing Facilities (effective October 1, 1990, the SNF/ICF
distinction is eliminated; see section VIII) the lower of the following, effective July 1, 1984:

A. Billed Charges;

B. The prospective rate as constrained by the ceilings (Section V) established by the Department as described in
this plan.

REIMBURSEMENT FOR TRIBAL 638 FACILITIES:

Effective August 18, 2023, the Human Services Department will reimburse Tribal 638 Nursing Facilities at the
Office of Management and Budget (OMB) rate as published and specified in the Federal Register. This rate will
be adjusted annually based on the percentage increase to the approval rates published each year in the Federal
Register by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' Indian Health Service, under the authority of
Sections321 (a) and 322 (b) of the Public Health Service Act (42 U.S.C. 248 and 249 (b)), Public Law 83-568
(42 U.S.C. 2001(a)), and the Indian Health Care Improvement Act (25 U.S.C. 1601 et seq.).

NURSING FACILITY RATE DETERMINATION FOR VENTILATOR DEPENDENT RESIDENTS

1. Effective for dates of service on and after March 14, 2022, the nursing facility per diem for a ventilator
dependent resident will be $305.66.

2. The per diem costs of providing services to the ventilator dependent residents shall be maintained separately
(as a distinct part) of each facility’s annual cost report beginning March 14, 2022.

3. Ventilator dependent per diem rates will cover all skilled nursing care services and will be all-inclusive.

4. No additional amount above the current nursing facility daily rate shall be allowed until the service is prior
authorized by the Department’s Medical Management Contractor.

5. The resident’s clinical condition shall be reviewed every 90 days to determine if the resident’s medical
condition continues to warrant services at the ventilator dependent nursing facility rate. Prior authorization
(PA) through the Department’s Medical Management Contractor spans a 90-day maximum time period. The
nursing facility is required to resubmit requests for continued stay prior to expiration of the current PA. If a
resident no longer requires the use of a ventilator, the provider shall not receive additional reimbursement
beyond the New Mexico Medicaid nursing home per diem rate determined for the facility.
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