
 
 

 
DATE:   November 30, 2011 NUMBER: 11-07  
 

TO:         ALL HOME HEALTH AGENCIES PARTICIPATING IN THE NEW MEXICO 

MEDICAID PROGRAM  

 

FROM:    JULIE B. WEINBERG, DIRECTOR, MEDICAL ASSISTANCE DIVISION 

  

SUBJECTS: NEW REQUIREMENTS FOR THE FEE-FOR-SERVICE HOME  

HEALTH PROGRAM  

 
Recently, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) asked the New Mexico 

Medicaid program to update its state plan in order to reflect new requirements and language 

affecting the home health program.   

HOMEBOUND REQUIREMENT: 

Currently New Mexico requires that, to be eligible for all home health services, the recipient 

must be determined to be “physically unable or has great difficulty leaving the home to obtain 

necessary medical care and treatment (i.e., is essentially homebound) or that the medical need for 

care at home is more appropriate and cost-effective and will prevent or delay 

institutionalization.” 

It is important to note that, unlike Medicare, Medicaid does not require that a person be 

“confined to the home” (“homebound”) as a condition for receipt of home health services.  

Under Medicaid, a state cannot limit medically necessary home health services based on criteria 

that an individual must be homebound.  Medicaid only requires that an individual be determined 

to need home health nursing services; home health aide services; medical supplies, equipment, 

and appliances; or therapies.  Accordingly, we are revising the state plan to remove the implied 

homebound requirement.   

FACE TO FACE ENCOUNTER: 

Section 6407 of the Affordable Care Act requires that physicians document the existence of a 

face-to-face encounter (including through the use of telehealth) for certification of eligibility for 

home health services with the Medicaid eligible individual prior to ordering the provision of the 

services. The certifying physician is required to document that he or she, or a non-physician 

practitioner working with the physician, has seen the patient. The encounter must occur within 

the 90 days prior to the start of care, or within the 30 days after the start of care.  This face-to-
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face encounter may be conducted by the physician, by a nurse practitioner or clinical nurse 

specialist working in collaboration with the physician in accordance with State law, by a certified 

nurse-midwife as authorized by State law, or by a physician assistant under the supervision of the 

physician. 

 

In addition, the Affordable Care Act requires that the physician document the existence of a face-

to-face encounter (including through the use of telehealth) with the Medicaid eligible individual 

prior to ordering medical supplies, equipment or appliances.  The timing of this face-to-face 

encounter must take place within the 6-month period preceding the written order for the supplies, 

equipment or appliances. This face-to-face encounter may also be conducted by any of the 

individuals referenced above, with the exception of certified nurse-midwives.   This provision in 

the law was effective January 10, 2011.  Accordingly, we are revising the state plan to reflect this 

new requirement.  To find out more about the face to face encounter requirement, please visit the 

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ Home Health Agency website at 

https://www.cms.gov/center/hha.asp. 

OTHER CLARIFICATIONS: 

We are also adding new statements to the state plan which simply clarify that “the State furnishes 

home health services provided to recipients at their place of residence, on their physician’s 

orders as part of a written plan of care that the physician reviews in accordance with the 

requirements of 42 CFR 440.70” and also that “the State provides nursing services, as defined in 

the State’s Nurse Practice Act, on a part-time or intermittent basis by a home health agency that 

is a public or private agency or organization, or part of an agency or organization, that meets the 

requirements for participation in Medicare, including the capitalization requirements under 42 

CFR 489.28.  If there is no agency in the area, a registered nurse who meets the requirements in 

42 CFR 440.70(1)(i) –(iv) provides the part-time or intermittent nursing services.” 

If you have questions regarding the above information, you may contact the Benefits Bureau at 

(505) 827-3171. 

 

We appreciate your participation in the Medicaid program. 

 

 

 

 


