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Interested Parties: 

 

The New Mexico Human Services Department (HSD) is announcing its intention to raise certain 

Medicaid provider payment rates effective July 1, 2019, as part of Governor Lujan Grisham’s focus on 

health care and as a critical first step in fulfilling her promise to increase Medicaid reimbursement rates 

for providers at the center of New Mexico’s health care safety net. Raising Medicaid payment rates 

will recognize and strengthen the state’s partnership with those who deliver care and services to the 

most vulnerable New Mexicans. HSD believes these critical rate adjustments will help rebuild and 

protect New Mexico’s health care delivery network. The proposed rate increases were supported, 

endorsed and funded by the New Mexico Legislature during the 2019 regular session. 

 

In determining the scope and amounts of these proposed provider payment increases, HSD conducted 

extensive analysis to determine where changes would have an immediate positive impact, particularly 

in rural areas for providers of behavioral health, primary care, dental services, specialty care, and long-

term services and supports. In total, HSD proposes nearly $60 million in payment rate increases, 

including coverage of some new targeted and preventive service codes through the Medicaid benefit 

package. The impact to the state general fund for these proposed changes is $13.1 million. 

 

Through this notice, HSD invites members of the public and provider community to comment on the 

proposed rate increases and revisions to the Medicaid program fee schedule, as described below. 

Additional detail may be found on the proposed fee schedules that are posted on the HSD website at 

www.hsd.state.nm.us/providers/fee-schedules.aspx. Some of the proposed provider rate increases will 

require revisions to the New Mexico Medicaid State Plan that HSD must file with the federal Centers 

for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). 

 

Please note that proposed rate increases for hospitals will be announced in a forthcoming separate 

public notice.  

 

1. Increase in Payment Rates for Evaluation and Management (E&M) Codes 

 

HSD proposes to increase payment for Evaluation and Management (E&M) office visits to a 

minimum of 90 percent of the 2019 Medicare fee schedule, effective July 1, 2019. E&M patient 

visits represent the core of most family practice, primary care, and specialty provider practices, and 

close to half of all Medicaid patient encounters. Payment for E&M visits has traditionally been at 

the lowest end of the Medicaid payment continuum, with an average current reimbursement level 

of approximately 70 percent of the Medicare fee schedule. By raising these payment rates, HSD 
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seeks to bolster its network of primary care and family practice providers, many of whom also 

provide behavioral health services through regular office visits in rural New Mexico.  

 

E&M codes that are currently above 90 percent of the 2019 Medicare fee schedule will remain 

unchanged until further review and/or notification by HSD.  

 

The anticipated annual fiscal impact to HSD for this increase is estimated to be $37.4 million total 

in state and federal funds combined, with a state general fund impact of $8.2 million. 

 

2. Increase in Payment Rates for Dental Codes 

 

In 2016, HSD reduced Medicaid rates paid to dental providers by two percent as part of a 

substantial cost-containment initiative. HSD now proposes to restore the 2016 reduction by 

increasing Medicaid dental rates by two percent, effective July 1, 2019.  

 

The anticipated annual fiscal impact to HSD for this increase is $4.6 million total in state and 

federal funds combined, with a state general fund impact of $1 million. 

 

3. Increase in Dispensing Fees Paid to Community-Based Pharmacies through Centennial Care 

 

In order to ensure that the payment structure for community-based pharmacies realistically reflects 

their buying power, buying volume, and price negotiating limitations, HSD is proposing to increase 

the dispensing fee paid for covered outpatient drugs by $2 per script under the Centennial Care 

program effective July 1, 2019. 

 

The anticipated annual fiscal impact to HSD for this increase is $2.1 million total in state and 

federal funds combined, with a state general fund impact of $450,000. 

 

A list of New Mexico pharmacies that are identified as community-based pharmacies enrolled with 

the Medicaid program can be found at www.hsd.state.nm.us/providers/fee-schedules.aspx.  

 

4. Increase in Rates Paid to Long-Term Services & Supports Providers 

 

HSD proposes to raise reimbursement rates for community benefit Personal Care Service (PCS) 

providers by 50 cents per hour, effective July 1, 2019. This increase is necessary to help mitigate 

some of the costs that will be borne by PCS provider agencies as a result of the minimum wage 

increase that will go into effect on January 1, 2020. The anticipated annual fiscal impact to HSD 

for the PCS rate increase is $11.9 million total in state and federal funds combined, with a state 

general fund impact of $2.6 million. 

 

Additionally, HSD proposes to increase rates for certain other types of long-term services and 

supports providers on July 1, 2019, including: 
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• A five percent rate increase for the Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE). 

The anticipated annual fiscal impact to HSD for this increase is $650,000 total in state and 

federal funds combined, with a state general fund impact of $150,000; and 

• A five percent rate increase for Assisted Living Facilities (ALFs). The anticipated annual 

fiscal impact to HSD for this increase is $320,000 total in state and federal funds combined, 

with a state general fund impact of $70,000. 

 

5. Addition of New Transitional Care and Chronic Care Management Services 

 

HSD proposes to add new services to the fee schedule effective July 1, 2019, aimed at improving 

care management at the provider level for patients with multiple chronic conditions; and for 

patients who are transitioning to the community setting following certain types of discharge. The 

rates for these new services are proposed to be set at 94 percent of the 2019 Medicare fee schedule. 

Codes and proposed rates for the new services are described below. 

 

Chronic Care Management Services 

 

• CPT code 99487 – Complex chronic care management services requiring moderate or high 

complexity of medical decision-making, with at least 60 minutes of staff time directed by a 

physician or other qualified health care professional per calendar month. Proposed rate: 

$83.84. 

• CPT code 99489 – Complex chronic care management – each additional 30 minutes of 

clinical staff time directed by a physician or other qualified health care professional, per 

calendar month. Proposed rate: $41.91. 

• HCPCS code G0506 – Chronic care management services when the billing practitioner 

personally performs an extensive assessment and chronic care management care planning 

beyond the usual effort described by the separate initiating visit. Proposed rate: $57.90. 

 

Providers should note that CPT code 99490 – Chronic care management services to include at 

least 20 minutes of clinical staff time directed by a physician or other qualified health care 

professional, per calendar month – is already a covered benefit in the Medicaid program. 

 

Transitional Care Management Services 

 

• CPT code 99495 – Transitional care management communication with the patient or 

caregiver within two business days of discharge, when such communication involves 

medical decision-making of at least moderate complexity and a face-to-face visit within 14 

days of discharge. Proposed rate: $151.23. 

• CPT code 99496 – Transitional care management communication with the patient or 

caregiver within two business days of discharge, when such communication involves 

medical decision-making of high complexity and a face-to-face visit within seven days of 

discharge. Proposed rate: $213.80. 

 



  
 

 
 

The anticipated annual fiscal impact to HSD for adding these new chronic and transitional care 

management services is $800,000 total in state and federal funds combined, with a state general 

fund impact of $175,000. 

 

6. Addition of Preventive Topical Fluoride Varnish Benefits for Children 

 

HSD proposes to add new codes for administering preventive topical fluoride varnish treatments to 

children age six months through age 20, effective July 1, 2019. The new proposed codes may be 

billed on a periodicity schedule of twice per year by either the child’s dentist or primary care 

provider (PCP). Codes and proposed rates for the new services are described below. 

 

• CDT code D1206 – Topical application of fluoride varnish. Proposed rate: $18.00. 

• CPT code 99188 – Topical application of fluoride varnish by a physician or other qualified 

health care professional. Proposed rate: $18.00. 

 

The anticipated annual fiscal impact to HSD for adding these new fluoride varnish services is $2 

million total in state and federal funds combined, with a state general fund impact of $450,000. 

 

7. Addition of Supportive Housing Services and Rates through Centennial Care 

 

Effective July 1, 2019, HSD proposes to add a Supportive Housing benefit in Centennial Care to 

provide pre-tenancy and tenancy support services to members with Serious Mental Illness (SMI). 

The Supportive Housing benefit will aid these members in acquiring, retaining, and maintaining 

stable housing as a way of helping them to participate in ongoing treatment of their illness and to 

improve management of their physical and mental health conditions. HSD will use its existing 

program infrastructure and network of provider agencies associated with the Linkages Supportive 

Housing Program to deliver supportive housing services.  

 

The primary code used to bill for supportive housing services will be HCPCS code H0044 with a 

proposed rate of $450.00 per month. Please refer to the proposed Supportive Housing fee schedule 

at www.hsd.state.nm.us/providers/fee-schedules.aspx for a full listing of codes for pre-tenancy and 

tenancy support activities covered under the Centennial Care Supportive Housing Program. 

 

The anticipated annual fiscal impact to HSD for adding supportive housing services is $230,000 

total in state and federal funds combined, with a state general fund impact of $50,000. 

 

8. Additional Proposed Changes Planned for October 1, 2019 

 

HSD intends to make additional Medicaid payment rate increases on October 1, 2019, to address 

insufficient payments at certain Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs); expand Graduate 

Medical Education (GME); and to further develop payment methodologies for certain telehealth 

and teleconsultation programs, including UNM Project ECHO. Additional details about these 

forthcoming changes will be sent in a notice to the public with a request for input and comments. 
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OPPORTUNITY TO VIEW DOCUMENTS AND MAKE COMMENTS 

 

Health care providers, Medicaid clients, and other interested parties are invited to submit comments on 

the proposed payment rates and new services.   

 

Proposed fee schedules may be found on the HSD website at:  

www.hsd.state.nm.us/providers/fee-schedules.aspx. 

 

Scroll to the bottom of the page, click on “agree”; then click on “submit”.  On the page that appears, 

scroll to the section titled “Proposed Fee Schedules or Rates”. 

 

If you do not have Internet access, a written copy of these proposed changes may be requested by 

contacting HSD at (505) 827-6252. 

 

Recorded comments may be left by calling (505) 827-1337.  Electronic comments may be submitted to 

madrules@state.nm.us. All comments must be received no later than 5:00 p.m. Mountain Time, June 

17, 2019. Interested persons may address written comments to: 

 

Human Services Department 

ATTN:  Medical Assistance Division Public Comments 

P.O. Box 2348 

Santa Fe, NM 87504-2348 

 

If you are a person with a disability and you require this information in an alternative format, please 

contact HSD at (505) 827-6252. The Department requests at least 10 working days advance notice to 

provide requested alternative formats. 

 

All comments will be compiled and made available on the HSD website. 
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